Agalico

I first knew about Agalico from Ye Xiao Zhong (叶孝忠), one of my favourite travel columnists. Subsequently, after reading many raving reviews about this chic cafe in Bangkok, I decided that I must give it a try. So during my latest escapade to Bangkok, mr;p and I went in search of this garden cafe.

From sources on the internet, Agalico is located at Sukhumvit Soi 51, so we happily alighted at the nearest BTS station at Thonglor. To our dismay, we couldn’t locate Agalico at all on our first try! In fact, Agalico is located near the entrance of Soi 51 at Bunjirathorn Building, a white building. Just push open the wooden door at the entrance to the carpark, and voila, you are there!
There are several unique points about Agalico. Firstly, Agalico only opens on Fri, Sat and Sun because it will otherwise function as an interior design firm on workdays. Secondly, the owner is purpotedly related to the royal family. Thirdly, and its most attractive feature, is the garden-like setting with ample greenery in the cafe. My pictures can bear testimony to that.
Some people find it refreshing that such a tranquil place can still be found in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. It is indeed , but it is certainly not the best I’ve been to in Thailand. With cake prices hovering at 95B, I wouldn’t exactly call it cheap, and mr;p felt that we could get such similar settings at much cheaper prices upcountry (anywhere out of Bangkok is considered as upcountry).
Well, at least we spent a delightful and leisurely late afternoon at Agalico, where I went a bit trigger-happy and attempted a few close-up shots with my macro lens. If any friend is keen to check out this cafe with a lush tropical setting when you are in Bangkok, let me give you the directions.

2 Comments

Filed under Bangkok, coffee

2 responses to “Agalico

  1. aglassofwine

    you take beautiful macro shots! 🙂

  2. silentdroplet

    Thanks for the encouragement! I’m hoping to improve my photography skills through this food blog as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

